2014 Annual Meeting: Tuesday, March 18

Annual Meeting convened Tuesday, March 18, with the Chairman’s Report from Randy Mooney, chairman of the Board. Mooney highlighted some of the progress the Cooperative achieved to advance the dairy industry in the United States and globally. Mooney also congratulated Dairylea’s Chairman Bill Beeman and the Dairylea Board for having the vision and the courage to position Dairylea members for the future by voting to join DFA’s Cooperative.

Mooney and DFA’s President and Chief Executive Officer, Rick Smith, honored Jerry Kozak, former president and chief executive officer of National Milk Producers Federation, for his years of service to the dairy industry by making a donation in Kozak’s name to the DFA Cares Foundation.

Smith continued the meeting with the President and Chief Executive Officer’s Report. In part, Smith detailed the strength of the Cooperative’s commercial business ventures. The afternoon’s presentations included: Tom Suber, president of U.S. Dairy Export Council; Jay Waldvogel, senior vice president of strategy and global development; and Lowell Catlett, regents professor and dean of the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences at New Mexico State University.

The evening’s Annual Meeting banquet featured the formal recognition of the 2014 Members of Distinction. The honorees included; the Cromer family of Sieg Dairy in Ridgeway, Ohio; the Sharpe family of Heartland Dairy in La Belle, Mo.; Marc and Gregg Wailes and Glenn Huwa of Double W Farm Dairy in Holyoke, Colo.; the Morrill family of Morrill Farm Dairy in Penacook, N.H.; the de Boer Family of Fluit Dairy in Dublin, Texas; the Hockett family of Green Valley Farms in Randleman, N.C.; and the Vlot family of Vlot Brothers Dairy in Chowchilla, Calif.